Located in the heart of downtown Quincy is the site of the Patriot Ledger’s original headquarters. The distinctive facade was designed in the Colonial Revival Style by Boston architects Monks & Johnson. Constructed in 1924 for $95,000, the building hummed with printing presses, typewriters and news reporters for nearly 70 years until newspaper production outgrew the space.
The building sat vacant for more than a decade until Acorn purchased it, lined up tenants, and began major renovations. Acorn tailored the 31,500 SF interior to the needs of the two anchor tenants, Bay State Community Services and Quincy College. Overcoming rigorous planning board requirements, historical reviews and design-build obstacles, Acorn completed construction in 2001. Today, the Patriot Ledger building remains a vibrant cornerstone of Quincy Center’s redevelopment process.